To choose a pet scale, compare its rated capacity, explicitly stated weighing surface (pan or plate), overall instrument footprint, and display division (readability or graduation) as separate specification columns. A higher kilogram capacity never guarantees a wider platform—for example, a 200 kg industrial bench scale can have a much smaller pan than a 150 kg floor scale—and a finer display division does not establish overall measurement accuracy.
Keep the exact model and configuration code attached to every number you record, and leave any unstated field marked unknown rather than borrowing platform dimensions or wash-down rules from a look-alike scale.
Same-Field Specification Comparison: Adam CPWplus 200P, KERN EOS 150K-2, and Marsden V-100
Putting the three cited scales into a single specification table shows why usable weighing surface, overall dimensions, readability, and linearity must stay in separate columns with their original manufacturer labels preserved:
| Specification Field | Adam Equipment CPWplus 200P | KERN EOS 150K-2 (EOS-A Family) | Marsden V-100 Veterinary Scale |
|---|---|---|---|
| Rated Capacity | 200 kg | 150 kg maximum | 100 kg |
| Explicitly Stated Usable Weighing Surface (Pan / Plate) | 300 × 300 mm pan (smaller pan despite highest 200 kg capacity) | 900 × 550 mm weighing surface | Not separately stated on cited page (do not relabel overall dimensions as usable surface) |
| Overall / Platform Dimensions (Original Field Label) | 300 × 355 × 503 mm (Overall dimensions; P version includes pillar-mounted display) | 900 × 550 × 60 mm (Platform dimensions) | 715 × 410 × 40 mm (listed under “Dimensions” label only) |
| Display Division (Original Field Label) | 0.05 kg readability | 0.05 kg readability | 50 g graduations |
| Separately Stated Performance Fields | Reproducibility / linearity not listed in cited summary (readability is not proven accuracy) | 0.05 kg reproducibility; ±0.15 kg linearity (not an all-condition error limit or clinical weight-change threshold) | Includes Tare and Hold functions; Approval field: N/A (not a certification) |
| Display Position & Units | Backlit pillar-mounted display (P configuration; M and L versions have different platform sizes) | Check exact indicator cable/mount position on EOS-A sheet | Supports kg / lb units |
| Power Supply | 15 V DC adapter supply and 6 × AA batteries (specific to this current listing) | Verify power adapter/battery specification on current EOS-A datasheet | 2 × AAA batteries |
| Surface Material, IP Rating & Care Status | Care and IP rating not stated in cited summary (verify permitted cleaning method before purchase) | Stainless weighing plate; no IP protection listed for display, platform, or load cell (do not immerse or wash down) | IP-rating field: N/A (does not establish water resistance; verify permitted cleaning method) |
Compare Capacity and Platform Size Separately
Always separate the active load-bearing weighing surface from the scale's overall external footprint, which can include a display pillar, base frame, or side handles.
The Adam CPWplus 200P page lists a 200 kg capacity, 0.05 kg readability, and a 300 × 300 mm pan, while separately listing overall dimensions of 300 × 355 × 503 mm. Within the CPWplus family, the P suffix indicates a pillar-mounted display, whereas M and L versions carry larger platforms—never copy one letter configuration's pan size onto another.
The KERN EOS 150K-2 in the EOS-A family lists a 150 kg maximum capacity, a 900 × 550 mm weighing surface, and 900 × 550 × 60 mm platform dimensions. Comparing Adam's 200 kg / 300 × 300 mm pan against KERN's 150 kg / 900 × 550 mm surface proves why capacity and pan area must be checked independently.
Neither specification alone proves that a particular animal, crate, or mat fits safely on the platform. This comparison covers published hardware specifications only, not animal restraint or clinical positioning.
Read the Division Without Treating It as Proven Accuracy
The KERN EOS-A datasheet lists 0.05 kg readability, 0.05 kg reproducibility, and ±0.15 kg linearity in three distinct rows. Keep those exact technical labels separate: a 0.05 kg display division is the smallest step shown on the screen, while ±0.15 kg linearity is a specific laboratory performance field—not an all-condition error ceiling or a guarantee that the scale can detect a 0.05 kg change in a moving pet's weight.
The Marsden V-100 page lists 100 kg capacity and 50 g graduations alongside 715 × 410 × 40 mm under “Dimensions,” without separately stating a usable weighing-surface figure. Keep 715 × 410 × 40 mm under its original “Dimensions” label rather than relabeling it as confirmed pan area.
Check the Complete Configuration, Power, and Care Status
Verify where the indicator sits, which weighing units and hold functions are included, how the unit is powered, and what cleaning limits apply:
The current CPWplus 200P listing specifies a backlit display, a 15 V DC adapter supply, and six AA batteries. Keep those power details tied to this exact revision rather than assuming an older manual or another CPWplus variant uses the same battery count.
Marsden lists kg/lb units, two AAA batteries, Tare, and Hold for the V-100. Its approval and IP-rating fields both read N/A—meaning neither legal-for-trade certification nor ingress/water protection is claimed.
Similarly, the KERN EOS-A page describes a stainless weighing plate but lists no IP protection rating for its display, platform, or load cell. A “stainless steel” or “easy-to-clean” description never grants permission to hose down or immerse a scale.
Use the specification table above when browsing pet scales so capacity, supported surface, overall dimensions, display division, power, and care remain distinct. Once your exact scale is in place, follow its manual to zero, tare and record a reading consistently.




