When comparing disposable dog pee pads—including when shopping for the best pee pads for senior dogs or indoor apartment setups—an age label or size adjective like “Regular” or “Gigantic” does not tell you the pad's actual dimensions, usable absorbent core, or replacement interval. A practical shortlist compares the exact specifications published for each product variant before you commit to a bulk carton.
This guide compares three manufacturers' written product listings side by side. Pawlivy has not tested their liquid capacity, adhesive hold, or leak resistance, and does not rank an overall winner. Instead, the comparison separates whole-pad outer dimensions from the working absorbent area and tracks scent identity, border construction, retention tabs, and package count.
Separate whole-pad footprint from the working absorbent area
Measure the floor tray, pen, or hallway spot where the pad will sit, then check two separate numbers on the product listing: the total edge-to-edge footprint and the inner absorbent pad area inside the plastic border. A listing that prints the outer dimensions does not automatically disclose how wide the non-absorbent perimeter rim is.
Decide first whether your household routine calls for single-use throwaway pads or washable fabric mats. This guide covers disposable options only; if you prefer washable mats, see our reusable-pad size, construction and care comparison.
Compare listed footprint, absorbent area, and pack count
| Named disposable pad option | Whole-pad outer footprint & pack count | Working absorbent area stated? | Documented border, backing & scent details | Key detail to verify before ordering |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hartz Home Protection Dog Pads, Unscented Regular (SKU 3270004159) | 50-count package; numeric outer length and width are not stated on the product page. | Not stated on the page. | Unscented option; manufacturer describes a plastic backing and surrounding border to help contain liquid. | Verify exact outer and inner dimensions for SKU 3270004159 rather than copying measurements from scented or XL Hartz listings. |
| Wee-Wee Superior Performance Gigantic Dog Pee Pads (UPC 045663016623) | 27.5 × 44 inches overall; 8-pad package. | Inner core dimensions are not listed separately from the 27.5 × 44 in outer size. | Manufacturer describes a 6-layer quilted top and leak-proof bottom barrier with an oversized footprint. | Confirm whether your floor space or tray fits a 27.5 × 44 in sheet, and plan replacements around an 8-pad pack count rather than advertised hour claims. |
| Paw Inspired Disposable Dog Pads | Variant 1: 24 × 24 inches (30 count). Variant 2: 28 × 30 inches (40 count). | Inner absorbent core dimensions are not listed separately from outer pad size. | Manufacturer describes adhesive strips at all four corners, a quilted top surface, and a plastic bottom liner. | Select one size/count variant explicitly (do not mix 24 × 24 / 30 ct with 28 × 30 / 40 ct) and check floor-surface rules before using corner adhesive tabs. |
Hartz Home Protection Unscented Regular: keep the SKU and missing size explicit
The Hartz Home Protection 50-count page identifies the Unscented, Regular option under SKU 3270004159, while also linking to lavender-scented pads and other potty accessories. Because the page uses the word “Regular” without printing inch measurements, keep the outer and inner dimensions marked unknown until you check the physical bag panel for SKU 3270004159. Do not assume that a plastic border guarantees a specific absorbent area.
Wee-Wee Superior Performance Gigantic: separate outer size from replacement frequency
The Four Paws Wee-Wee Gigantic listing specifies a 27.5-by-44-inch outer footprint and an 8-count pack under UPC 045663016623. That 27.5 × 44 inch measurement gives you a concrete floor footprint to compare against smaller pads, especially when an older dog steps forward while posturing or misses narrow targets. However, the page's promotional duration claim does not set a safe change interval for your home, and an 8-pad pack is simply eight individual sheets—not an eight-day supply.
Paw Inspired Dog Pads: keep the two size-and-count variants distinct
The Paw Inspired Dog Pads page pairs each dimension with a fixed quantity: 24 × 24 inches comes in a 30-count pack, while 28 × 30 inches comes in a 40-count pack. Record the exact variant you are evaluating so dimensions and pad counts never get blended. Its four-corner adhesive strips are designed to help hold the pad in place, but an adhesive tab description does not guarantee zero shifting if a dog paws at the edges, nor does it confirm that the adhesive is safe for every hardwood, tile, or sealed floor finish.
Build a practical disposable-pad buying record
Match your choice to the verifiable specification your setup needs most: an explicitly unscented label (Hartz SKU 3270004159 once dimensions are confirmed), a large 27.5 × 44 inch floor footprint (Wee-Wee Gigantic UPC 045663016623), or corner adhesive tabs in a 24 × 24 or 28 × 30 inch sheet (Paw Inspired). None of those features automatically proves the others, and a dog's life stage alone cannot fill in missing inch measurements.
Estimate how many packs you need from how often you actually change soiled pads each day rather than dividing pack count by advertised protection hours. Browse disposable pee pads to review current product specifications, and read our pad layers and material-claim guide for a closer look at how quilted tops, absorbent cores, and backing films are described.





